Key Dates
January 15, 2009
 Workshops / Symposia Proposal
April 23, 2009
 Extended deadline for paper submission
June 25, 2009
 Exhibition Booth/Table Reservation
August 3, 2009
 Hotel Reservation
Conference / Program Chairs
Conference Chair
 Bin He, University of Minnesota
Conference Co-Chair
 Yongmin Kim, University of Washington
Program Chair
 Xiaochuan Pan, University of Chicago
Program Co-Chair
 Gregory A. Worrell, Mayo Clinic
Conference Contact Information
Mailing Address
 EMBS Conferences
 Attn: EMBC 2009
 445 Hoes Lane
 Piscataway NJ 08854
Contact Information
 EMBS Executive Office
 Tel: 732 981-3451
 Fax: 732 465-6435



Copyright © 2009 IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society, All rights reserved.


Bin He
     Dr. Bin He is Distinguished McKnight University Professor, and Professor of Biomedical Engineering, Electrical Engineering, and Neuroscience at the University of Minnesota at Twin Cities. At the University of Minnesota, Dr. He served as the Director of Undergraduate Studies of Biomedical Engineering, and serves as the Director of Center for Neuroengineering. His major research interests include functional neuroimaging, neural interfacing, cardiac functional imaging, and bioelectromagnetism. Dr. He has published over 300 peer-reviewed journal and conference proceedings articles, and delivered over 150 plenary, keynote, and invited talks. His lab has contributed significantly to electrophysiological source imaging, multimodal neuroimaging, and brain computer interface techniques. Dr. He is the editor of books entitled ¡°Modeling and Imaging of Bioelectrical Activity ? Principles and Applications¡± and ¡°Neural Engineering¡± (Kluwer Academic, 2004 and 2005). He has served as an associate editor or guest editor of IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, IEEE Transactions on Neural Systems and Rehabilitation Engineering, IEEE Transactions on Medical Imaging, IEEE Transactions on Information Technology in Biomedicine, IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Magazine, Brain Topography, Critical Reviews of Biomedical Engineering, Methods of Information in Medicine, and International Journal of Bioelectromagnetism. He is also a member of Editorial Boards of IEEE Spectrum, Journal of Neural Engineering, and Clinical Neurophysiology, among others. Dr. He was the recipient of NSF CAREER Award, American Heart Association Established Investigator Award, the University of Illinois University Scholar Award where he was on faculty, and Tejima Prize. He is a past president of International Society of Bioelectromagnetism and of International Society of Functional Source Imaging, and is the 2009-2010 President of the IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society. Dr. He is a Fellow of IEEE, AIMBE, IOP and ISFSI.
Yongmin Kim
     Dr. Yongmin Kim is a Professor of Bioengineering and of Electrical Engineering, and Adjunct Professor of Radiology and Computer Science and Engineering at the University of Washington, where he was Chair of Bioengineering from 1999 to 2007 and the W. Hunter and Dorothy L. Simpson Endowed Chair in Bioengineering from 2004 to 2007. His research interests include medical imaging and computing, ultrasound systems, electronic medicine, distributed diagnosis and home healthcare, and computer architecture. He has supervised 37 Ph.D. dissertations and 102 Masters theses, and holds more than 60 patents with 25 licenses to industry. Dr. Kim is editor of Handbook of Medical Imaging (SPIE Press, 2000) and has published more than 450 research publications. He has been a member of the Editorial Boards of Proceedings of the IEEE, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, IEEE Transactions on Information Technology in Biomedicine, and Annual Reviews of Biomedical Engineering. He was Program Chair of the 1989 Annual Conference of IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society (EMBS), and Conference Chair of the SPIE Medical Imaging Image Display Conference from 1990 to 1999. He has been consultant to many governmental agencies, companies and academic institutions. Dr. Kim was President of the IEEE EMBS in 2005 and 2006. He was awarded the 1988 Early Career Achievement Award of the IEEE EMBS for his contributions to medical imaging and the 2003 Ho-Am Prize in Engineering. In 2005, he received Distinguished Achievement Award from University of Wisconsin-Madison College of Engineering. Dr. Kim is a Fellow of the IEEE and of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering. He is a member of Tau Beta Pi and Eta Kappa Nu.
Xiaochuan Pan
     Dr. Xiaochuan Pan is currently a full Professor with tenure in the Department of Radiology, Department of Radiation and Cellular Oncology, the College, the Committee on Medical Physics, and the Cancer Research Center at The University of Chicago. His research interest centers on imaging science and its biomedical applications. Dr. Pan has authored and co-authored more than 300 journal and proceeding papers. He has received numerous awards for his contributions to medical imaging, and is a Fellow of the American Institute for Medical and Biological Engineering (AIMBE), the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), the Optical Society of America (OSA), and the Society of Photo-Optical Instrumentation Engineers (SPIE). Dr. Pan has served, and is serving, as a charter member of study sections and/or grant reviewer for National Institutes of Health (NIH), National Science Foundation (NSF), National Science Foundation of China (NSFC), Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERCC), and numerous other funding agencies and foundations. He is an Associate Editor for a number of journals in the field, including IEEE Transaction on Medical Imaging, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, Medical Physics, and Journal of Cardiovascular CT. He has served, and is serving, as program chair, theme chair, session chair, and technical or scientific committee member for international conferences such as Conferences of IEEE Engineering in Medicine and Biology Society, IEEE Medical Imaging, Radiological Society of North America (RSNA), and American Association of Physicists in Medicine (AAPM).
Gregory A. Worrell
     Gregory A. Worrell received his Ph.D. in Physics from Case Western Reserve University and M.D. from University of Texas, Galveston. He completed his Neurology and Epilepsy training at Mayo Clinic, where he is now Associate Professor of Neurology. He is a member of the IEEE, American Neurological Association, Academy of Neurology, and American Epilepsy Society. Dr. Worrell¡¯s research is integrated with an active clinical practice focused on patients with medically resistant epilepsy. The current focus of his research is the use of large-scale electrophysiology, brain stimulation, and data mining to identify and track electrophysiological biomarkers of epileptic brain and seizure generation. He is currently directing clinical trials at Mayo Clinic investigating therapeutic brain stimulation and seizure prediction.